Kristine Laco’s 29th birthday 12-word challenge | #41 of 💯

The Plumber Hated His Job

But he loved certain perks of it

Nikos Skordilis
3 min readOct 23, 2022

--

Image by Alexa from Pixabay

note: This story is a response to a challenge started by for her 29th birthday in this story, where she apparently abducted a fellow Medium member to write for her. I discovered it via ’s story here. The words in bold are the words of the challenge. Read Kristine’s post for details.

I’ve always been averagest at my job, perhaps because I fucking hate it. Few jobs come with so many health hazards attached. I deal with shit everyday, literally. After five years unblocking toilets I’m still not fully used to the pungent stench of a ripe urinal.

What have I found in those toilets? You name it, I’ve found it. They are usually blocked with toilet paper, but a used condom or tampon is a daily occurence. Once a toilet was blocked by a huge marshmallow mass a little brat had thrown in for fun.

Being a plumber requires a strong stomach and low dignity. Many cannot put up with all the shit and give up. They have styrofoam stomachs. I’ve always wanted to be a writer but instead I ended up cleaning up other’s people shit.

Who knows, perhaps this job will make me a better writer. Write what you know and all…

--

--

Nikos Skordilis

Curious Top 0.1% content creator trying to gain a more beautiful mind and a lighter heart via his words and visuals.